

First Announcement and Call for Abstracts

The 4th Southern African Solar Energy Conference (SASEC 2016) will be held from the 31st October to the 2nd of November 2016 at the Conference Centre of the Faculty of Theology at Stellenbosch University, South Africa.

This conference will focus on both **Solar Photovoltai**c and **Solar Thermal Energy** technology, systems and applications. The conference will provide the opportunity for researchers, engineers, technologists and individuals to share and discuss recent developments in the field.



The Conference will focus on research and development projects and results completed by universities and other institutions over the last five years. Engineers, researchers and scientists are encouraged to share their research results and knowledge at the conference.

The conference will start on the Monday morning with a plenary session where after the presentations will split into PV, Solar Thermal and General Solar tracks. Tuesday will follow a similar programme with a Conference Dinner in the evening. The conference will end on the Wednesday with optional site visits in the afternoon.

The Conference will have a specific focus on research, technology development and deployment of solar energy in the Southern African context shared with experiences from other parts of the world. To benefit the Solar Energy community as a whole, engineers and scientists from academia and industry are encouraged to share their on-going and completed research, technology developments and experiences with technology deployment at the conference.

Presentation at the conference will be subject to acceptance of an abstract. The review process will consist of an initial review of one-page abstracts followed by a rigorous peer review of the complete papers. Comprehensive conference proceedings, with an allocated ISBN number, will be published.









Keynote Speakers will be:

Keynote Speaker 1: Prof Carsten Agert (Oldenburg)

Photovoltaic Systems:

Prof Dr Carsten Agert studied physics at the Universities of Marburg and Canterbury. He subsequently earned his doctorate at the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE) in Freiburg, where he focused on high-efficiency solar cells. He then conducted research and worked while in Oxford and Pretoria. In January 2002, he returned to the Fraunhofer ISE, where he coordinated strategic planning for the institute's areas of business. Simultaneously, he served as a member of the research staff of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU).

In 2005, Prof Agert began to direct a fuel cell research group at the Freiburg-based Fraunhofer Institute. Since 2008, he has been Professor for Energy Technology at the University of Oldenburg, where he is Head of the EWE Research Centre NEXT ENERGY. The centre's work focuses on the areas of Photovoltaics, Fuel Cells and Energy Storage. Prof Agert acts as vice chairman of the executive board of the Lower Saxony Energy Research Centre (efzn) and serves as deputy spokesman of the advisory board of the Energy Storage and Systems Initiative of the State of Lower Saxony.

Keynote Speaker 2: TBD

Solar Thermal Energy (Europe)

Keynote Speaker 3: TBD

Concentrating Solar Power (USA)

IMPORTANT DATES

1st Call for Abstracts: 20 January 2016

2nd Call for Abstracts: 15 February 2016

Abstracts due: 04 April 2016

Notification of Acceptance: 16 May 2016

Final Paper due: 01 August 2016

Early Bird registrations close: 03 Oct 2016

Conference: 31 October – 02 November 2016

TOPICS OF INTEREST

- General Solar Energy
- Solar Thermal Energy
- Solar Photovoltaics
- Solar Resource Measurement and Assessment
- Concentrating Solar Power
- Industrial and Domestic Solar Heating
- Off-Grid Applications of Solar Energy
- High Temperature Applications of Solar Energy
- Solar Chemistry
- Storage of Solar Energy
- Optics for Solar Energy









GUIDE FOR AUTHORS

Authors are invited to submit an abstract of no longer than 500 words

- The deadline to submit abstracts is 04 April 2016.
- To submit your abstract, please click on the following link: http://www.sasec.org.za/#abstracts

INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Paul Gauche Stellenbosch University
Prof Frank Dinter Stellenbosch University

Prof Ernest van Dyk NMMU Vikesh Rasjpaul Eskom

Prof Ken Craig University of Pretoria

Dr Michael Brooks University of Kwa-Zulu Natal

Prof Josua Meyer University of Pretoria

Dr Christoph Richter DLR

Dr Werner Platzer ISE Fraunhofer

Dr Dave Renne ISES
Werner Weiss AEE-Intec

Dr Zivayi Chiguvare Polytechnic of Namibia

Prof Tunde Oladiran Botswana University of Science and Technology

Prof Dr Tobias Bischof-Niemz CSIR

Prof Vladimir Dyanakov ZAE/Wurtzburg
Prof Carsten Agert Oldenburg

Prof Robert Pitz-Paal DLR

Dr Michael Geyer Abengoa Solar

Dr Manuel Romero IMDEA

LOCAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE

- Centre for Renewable and Sustainable Energy Studies, Stellenbosch University
 - o Prof Wikus van Niekerk (Conference Chair)
 - o Ms Corli Leonard
 - o Ms Carla Nel
- UCT Conference Management Centre
 - Ms Belinda Chapman

CONTACT DETAILS

Email:

- General conference enquiries
- Registration & accommodation enquiries
- Academic enquiries

Conference website:

www.sasec.org.za







